Author Topic: Can't find FG  (Read 595 times)

Offline dittles

• Trade Count: (0)
Can't find FG
« on: April 22, 2011, 08:00:59 PM »
 Well to start, I'm new at this. I just got a golf ball cannon and I can't find FG with out having to order 5 pounds at a time. Places where I can order only 1 or 2 pounds at a time, OUT OF STOCK! My local gun shop only carries FF, and FFF ( plus they only order B.P. twice a year).  So what I have read is that some people say no to FFG while others seem to use it in mortars. Can I use FFG in my cannon (pushing a golf ball) with a lighter load and still be safe? Powder chamber is 1"x3" and barrel is 11".  And if I can get by with FFG, what loads would you recommend?

Offline BoomLover

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: Can't find FG
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 08:45:07 PM »
Welcome to the forum, Dittles...your gonna like it here! Lots of great info, and great guys...you will get your question answered, and don't forget to look in the "stickies" at the top of the page...BoomLover
"Beware the Enemy With-in, for these are perilous times! Those who promise to protect and defend our Constitution, but do neither, should be evicted from public office in disgrace!

Offline Cannoneer

• GBO Supporter
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2011, 10:34:02 PM »
Welcome aboard, dittles!
I'm emending my original post, because I misread your opening post; I thought you were asking about loads for a golfball mortar, not a cannon (I think my faculties are dimming :o).
What metal is your howitzer made out of, and what is the outside diameter of the barrel at the breech? Can you post a photo of your cannon?
RIP John. While on vacation July 4th 2013 in northern Wisconsin, he was ATVing with family and pulled ahead of everyone and took off at break-neck speed without a helmet. He lost control.....hit a tree....and the tree won.  He died instantly.

The one thing that you can almost always rely on research leading to, is more research.

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)