Author Topic: Signal Cannon- Identification  (Read 2862 times)

Offline marcus5aurelius

• Trade Count: (0)
Signal Cannon- Identification
« on: June 08, 2011, 10:50:40 AM »
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the forum and have been interested in signal cannons/thundermugs for quite some time. I purchased a small signal cannon recently and frankly know very little about it. I'm a complete novice, but it looked cool and I purchased it for a pretty good price. It looked very old and the man I purchased it from said he picked it up from an antique store many years ago. I see some antique cannons sell for thousands of dollars at auction and would like to have your opinion on trying to identify it's relative age and value. It has no markings whatsoever and appears to have been fired (based on rust from the touch hole). I really don't mind if it's valuable or a cheap knockoff, I really just want to know if I should be firing it or keeping it in a vault somewhere  ;D

I have some pictures here: http://s559.photobucket.com/albums/ss33/mikepatty4/shotguns%20and%20cannpn/?action=view&current=shotguns032.jpg&

but can take some more if necessary. The signal cannon has no markings whatsoever. Someone tried to "repair" it by nailing a piece of wood to keep the cannon stationary but after I purchased it the cheap nails that he used to position it bent in transit and I have removed that piece. Any information at all would be much appreciated! Of all the forums I have visited and research I have done, this has been by far the single most knowledgeable. Thanks in advance!
Mark

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Re: Signal Cannon- Identification
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 11:41:59 AM »
I see a cast iron yard ornament that should not be fired....

Offline dan610324

• bronze cannons and copper stills ;-))
    • dont have
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2011, 11:43:34 AM »
whats the dimensions ??

yeah you are right dd