Author Topic: Plain Base vs. Bevel Base cast bullets  (Read 1511 times)

Offline carpediem

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Plain Base vs. Bevel Base cast bullets
« on: January 03, 2004, 07:04:17 PM »
Hello All and Happy New Year:

Can anyone give me info and or opinion on the difference between plain base and bevel base cast bullets?

I know the bevel base bullets are easier to seat in the case mouth.  After that, what's the difference?  Is there a difference in accuracy, ballistics, etc?

Thanks for your help.

Kindest regards, :wink:
Carpediem

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2004, 07:42:13 PM »
Plain base bullets most regularly hit the target. Bevel base bullets just as often don't.  :eek:  Dunno why but over the years I've tried them the BB bullets just don't shoot in my guns.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Robert

Copper Jacketed flat base VS. Boat-tails.....
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2004, 08:52:32 PM »
This one has been kicked around on other forums here.  Boat-tail bullets only real advantage is down-range.  
  It would seem to me that if this is true with jackets, it would be true with cast, and since I have not heard of a gas-checked bevel-based cast...that would reduce these bullets to lower velocities...so they aint going anywhere near down-range.......so what would be the sense?
....make it count

Online Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2004, 11:48:04 PM »
what he said
Quote from: Graybeard
Plain base bullets most regularly hit the target. Bevel base bullets just as often don't.  :eek:  Dunno why but over the years I've tried them the BB bullets just don't shoot in my guns.

GB
blue lives matter

Offline Castaway