Author Topic: lube or not lube that is the question  (Read 1002 times)

Offline doublegunner

• Trade Count: (15)
lube or not lube that is the question
« on: August 02, 2011, 02:49:50 AM »
I'm new to cast bullets.  Should I always lube even slow pistol ammo 800fps or less. tried the tumble lube and it was a mess. how do you finger lube?
Thanks
Bob

Offline SHOOTALL

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: lube or not lube that is the question
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 03:00:43 AM »
In the instructions that come with Lee moulds they say all lead bullets need to be lubed but not all need to be sized. The grease groove needs to be filled . I have only done "finger lube" on ML bullets using bore butter . I just smear it into the groves on the bullet and clear off extra with a finger . I like to leave the lube even with the bullet side .
If ya can see it ya can hit it !

Offline rescue_171

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (78)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2011, 03:50:45 AM »
I tried that once just to see for my self... I was loading 38 specials and I wanted to see if lubing was really needed. My normal load with tumble lubed bullets don't lead at all. So I loaded 5 bullets without lube. After only 5 shots I had pretty substantial leading in my barrel so I would advise to always lube your bullets. A quick and easy way is with Lee Alox.

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2011, 07:15:58 AM »
Ya Bob , you need some type of lube on cast bullets , when you tried the Tumble lube what type of mess did you have ?

Using too much lube wil realy make a mess in a hurry .  ;D  trust me on this one !  ;) 

stimpy
Deceased June 17, 2015

:D If i can,t stop it with 6 it can,t be stopped

Offline rescue_171

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (78)
  • Contributor
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2011, 09:26:59 AM »