Author Topic: new to cast bullet reloading help  (Read 1308 times)

Offline wileynet

• Trade Count: (30)
  • Contributor
new to cast bullet reloading help
« on: October 23, 2011, 08:33:24 PM »
i have been reloading for more than 30 years but never messed with cast bullets, but have been thinking of using cast in my 45LC, 45ACP, 357/38 and 45 70, lee manual goes into great detail about cast bullets but can someone simplify for me,

1.can 230 grain .451 RN  be used in both the 45ACP and Long colt
2. when do you use gas checks or not
3. is there a velocity for cast bullets
4. do I have to slug each barrel for the correct diameter
5. what about leading
6. how about cast for 308 or 303 british
"The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it." -Thomas Jefferson

Huntsman 58,NEF 45/70 manlicher stock, H&R 308, 30-06, 12 ga, 20 ga, H&R 223, H&R 204 varmiter,H&R 243, H&R 44mag, SMLE No 1 MKIV,SMLE No4 MK1, Savage 110 7mm, Ruger BH 45LC, Security Six, SR9, S&W 22a, CVA MTN Rifle, Optima

Offline luckydawg13

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • A Real Regular
Re: new to cast bullet reloading help
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2011, 11:49:25 PM »
the first thing you need to do is join castboolits the secend thing is to buy
a Lyman reloading handbook 49 edition is a good one to get
kids that hunt and fish dont mug old Ladies
and drive a F150

Offline Bob J

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2011, 02:51:30 AM »

Second the recommendation to join Cast Boolits.....  Great site and a great resource if you are loading/shooting cast....

As for your questions:

Yes, this bullet can be used for both 45ACP and 45LC....

All my magnum and rifle bullets are gas checked.....  All my regular pistol rounds are plain base.....

My experience tops out at 1800 FPS with no leading and great accuracy.....  You can probably go higher but that is my experience....