Author Topic: Golf ball mortar - loading procedure & data  (Read 1839 times)

Offline Ratbelly

• Trade Count: (0)
Golf ball mortar - loading procedure & data
« on: November 15, 2011, 02:57:29 AM »
I'm completely new to anything having to do with black powder.  I bought my mortar from an online company and I am very impressed with the quality and construction.  That being said, I'm not getting much of any help from the supplier as far as step by step loading procedure and what is a good starting point for the amount of black powder to use. 

He did recommend using FFg or 2F powder, and he told me that 250 grains will get the ball out about a half mile.  I'd really rather not start out at the max load (like with any loading).  Does anyone have a good starting point for say 100 yards or so? 

Also, he recommended putting the powder in, packing it with newspaper, then packing that with a damp newspaper.  For a cannon this size how big of a piece of paper should I use?  I thought a 1/4 page?  Is there something better to use than newspaper?  I did read somewhere you can cut cardboard circles to use also? 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Re: Golf ball mortar - loading procedure & data
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 04:08:22 AM »
First welcome to out board , we are always glad to have folks join us.

Golf ball mortar huh.  Lots of folks start with one of these...notice I said start.  It is very easy to get hooked on theses things.  With the group of sponsors we have here they all make it very simple to stay  hooked.  They have a good selection small cannons to choose from. I hope you bought you mortar from one of them.  I can tell however from what you have posted that you probably didn't.

The reason I say that is that,  the advice you got from the manufacture is not the safe sane advice our sponsors would hand out.