Author Topic: scope painting  (Read 1167 times)

Offline DANNY-L

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (63)
scope painting
« on: November 21, 2011, 06:48:01 AM »
Are there any special tricks I should know before attempting this. I will completely cover the adjustment ring and glass. This is a gloss leupold with some good scratches on it,I don't think it will but will ask does this effect the lifetime warranty.Thanks

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: scope painting
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2011, 05:54:48 PM »
Unless you are 100% sure you will NEVER want to sell it or move it to another firearm I'd leave it as is. Dunno about others but I'd give nothing for one painted like you are talking about.

I don't know what Leupold's policy would be on such but I doubt it would affect warranty. Why not just leave it as it is?

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline drdougrx

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (10)
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2011, 04:28:55 AM »
I have the same dilemma with Leupy Var-x I 2x7 that I use on my AR. It's gloss and looks funny.  I suspect I'll just bite the bullet and get a matt finished rifleman. 
If you like, please enjoy some of my hunt pics at:

http://public.fotki.com/DrDougRx

If you leave a comment, please leave your GB screen name so that I can reply back!

Offline DANNY-L

• GBO Supporter
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2011, 05:34:18 AM »
The scope had been scratched up quite a bit by previous owner but no dents or dings. The glass is clear and I would have no intention of selling it,so I quess I'll just rough up the surface a bit then clean it with alcohol and get some flat black paint and just do it. To me haveing a scratched up scope shows you just don't give a dang.

Online Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)