Author Topic: Barrel fitting/pop open fix with photo  (Read 562 times)

Offline Yak Angler

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Contributor
Barrel fitting/pop open fix with photo
« on: December 11, 2011, 03:04:27 PM »
Hi all,

had a few hours today when the kids weren't screaming to pull the handi out and do some testing for the continued problem of inconsistant accuracy & FTF's with the occasional pop open on hotter loads. etc that have occured in this firearm since new. I appoligize if this is already shown in the FAQ's but i can't remember seeing it there explained like this.

I hope my hand drawn ( i am no artist ) photo uploaded correctly as my camera flash did not allow me to take a clear photo on the gun itself. My # 1 recommendation to anyone fitting a barrel is to remove the latch engagement inspection plug, had i done this before i would not have needed to pull the entire thing apart today as it would already be fixed. The reason why you need to remove the plug is because the tolerance is so tight on these for latch/shelf engagement that as you can hopefully see in my photo .001" makes all the world of difference for proper fitting when it comes to the shim used on the barrel hinge and most automotive feeler gauges come in .001" increments so if your off by .001" your SOL.