Author Topic: 44 magnum pistol vs rifle data...  (Read 1132 times)

Offline Jasper243

• Trade Count: (0)
44 magnum pistol vs rifle data...
« on: December 22, 2011, 03:08:59 AM »
I am trying to find a good, light plinking load for my young son to use in his 44 mag handi...I noticed a cast bullet load with 6 grains of Red Dot, but it was fired from a 6" pistol barrel.  There wasn't any data like this for 44 mag rifle loads.  Are pistol strength loads safe/acceptable in a rifle, or is there a pressure issue that may arise?  I am relatively new to pistol reloading, but have loaded rifle and shotgun for 30 years.

Any info or suggested light loads for him to use would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Happy Holidays! :D

Jasper243

Offline tom548

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (51)
  • A Real Regular
Re: 44 magnum pistol vs rifle data...
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2011, 04:01:59 AM »
The Speer manual has loads for Hand gun and rifle. They don't show Blue dot for rifle, only in the pistol section. You should be able to use that load as it is shown as a max load in my book.  I would start 1/2 to 1 grain lower and  check for pressure signs. The Speer book with a 200 grain bullet starts at 6.0  and max is 6.5 of Red dot. Not much working room.

Offline cwlongshot

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (158)
  • Shooting, Hunting, the Outdoors & ATVs
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2011, 04:23:45 AM »
I like a bulky powder for light lead bullet loads. IMR has a little used SR line, PB and the newer TrailBoss.

Check your manuels and you will find data for all.  You could also load up 44 specials too. Nice cause you don't need the mags larger powder cap for light loads.

Good luck,
CW
"Pay heed to the man who carries a single shot rifle, he likely knows how to use it."

NRA LIFE Member 
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Offline keith44

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2011, 07:06:27 AM »