Author Topic: Is full length sizing a must?  (Read 428 times)

Offline MICHIMAN65

• Trade Count: (5)
Is full length sizing a must?
« on: January 05, 2012, 07:30:29 PM »
 I am new to handloading, and I have a lever action 30/30, and want to know what is it that makes full length sizing a rule for leverguns? Is neck sizing possible for the purpose of increased case life? Michiman.

Offline keith44

• Trade Count: (2)
Re: Is full length sizing a must?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 08:54:59 PM »
Hi Michiman65,

My first experience with reloading was with a Lee set that you hammer the shell into the die to re-size the neck only.  As long as the gun that fired the shell originally is the gun you are loading for, no in my experience you do not need to full length re-size your shells.  To be 100% sure push the primer out of one case, and load a bullet into the empty and deprimed case (keep this case it will be very useful for as long as you load for this gun) and crimp it into place.  load this dummy round into the magazine and cycle it through the action.  I'll just bet it feeds and functions just fine.  If it does, then you have no need to full length re-size your cases.  (the 30-30 is low enough pressure that you may never need to, I didn't but I only loaded for that gun for three years)

keep em talkin' while I reload
Life member NRA

Offline Ron T.

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 11:50:44 PM »
I have been reloading cartridges for over 50 years and I can tell you that it is common knowledge that with bolt action rifles, a reloader can get away with neck-sizing ONLY.  However, with pump-action, semi-automatic and lever action rifles, experts recommended that the cartridge cases be full-length resized so that the reloaded cartridge will be sure to go into the chamber without any problems.