Author Topic: Flux ? Do in need it to cast RB's  (Read 574 times)

Offline Spot Shooter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Flux ? Do in need it to cast RB's
« on: January 18, 2004, 06:28:36 AM »
Hi Guy's,

I'm new to Grey beards, and just about to get into casting for the first time. I'm ordering a mold and wanted to know if I needed to get some flux to purify the lead.

BTW - any suggestions on a melting pot would be nice. I'm looking at a Lee production four right now.   I'll check the rest of the threads.

RollingB,

:D  if your out there!

Thanks,
Spot
Spot

Offline The Shrink

• A Real Regular
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2004, 09:14:46 AM »
Spot Shooter

I think there are a few of us that are using Coleman camping stoves and old cooking pots with great satisfaction, ladel pouring single cavity rifle, double cavity rifle, six cavity pistol, and both single and double cavity round balls in my case.  It's clearly the cheapist way to go if you have or can find an old Coleman type stove or have a turkey frying pot.  You can put a larger pot on that burner and melt a lot of lead.  

Fluxing is done with something that will burn on the top of the lead.  Oiled sawdust was used for years, small pieces of candle was work well, beeswax works well.  I've never used oiled sawdust, although I have lots of sawdust in the garage, but have lots of candle wax left over from candle making experiments and use that.

Wayne the Shrink
Wayne the Shrink

There is no 'right' that requires me to work for you or you to work for me!

Online Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2004, 01:10:07 PM »
just about anything will flux lube oil. wax. a piece of wood to stir the mix will even do it. I dont get carried away fluxing i flux once when im just starting a run of bullets and seldom after that.
blue lives matter

Offline jgalar

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2004, 02:48:34 PM »