Author Topic: New to forum and need help on loading 45 Colt  (Read 585 times)

Offline Virginian

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
New to forum and need help on loading 45 Colt
« on: January 08, 2012, 02:43:47 AM »
Hello,

Kind of a long post here. I was doing a google search to get some help and there seems to be quite a few 45 colt fans on this forum so I thought  I would reach out here. My names Eric and I've been reloading for about 2 years, mostly rifle rounds, so I consider myself a novice reloader. I love shooting the 45 colt and currently have 3 pistols in this caliber, 2 Ruber Blackhawks and a Ruger Vaquero.

Yesterday, I decided to quit talking about reloading this caliber and just do it. I'm using a Lee die set #90586, which comes with a decapper, FL sizing die, bullet seater, shell holder and dipping cup. Kind of an all in one in a red plastic tube.

My recipe is Unique at 7.2 gr, WLP primers, Win brass, cast 250 gr bullets. Pop hot loaded this round as well all the way up to 9 grs. of Unique.

The problem I'm having is the bullets are not seating soothly. They are shaving the sides off the bullets and in some cases, there's spillage of lead where it rolled over the rim of the case and pushed it in.

The brass that I'm using is unknown as far as how many times it's been reloaded. Some of the lips crumple when trying to seat the bullets. I stopped till I could get some advice.

I lubed the cases before full length sizing. Could it be a case of too much lube causing this? I've read about carbide dies that don't require lube, should I get a new set of dies? Could this be a case of crappy bullets no being in spec? I can post specific pictures if need be.

Thanks for any and all advice.

Eric
Show up, do your best, don't grumble about it.

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
Re: New to forum and need help on loading 45 Colt
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2012, 02:56:41 AM »
Eric