Author Topic: Help heavy bolt lift  (Read 773 times)

Offline huntducks

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Contributor
Help heavy bolt lift
« on: February 04, 2012, 03:33:45 PM »
I'm working on a load for my 338 WM using 180 Nosler AB, after some rounds down range 4-5 months ago I found a load that is real accurate, so I set everything aside for hunting season so Waterfowl season just ended so I pick right up where I left off .

Thursday was a range day and I took out 20 loaded rounds having all the time to tinker I loaded these 4-5 months back and decided to see the effect if any of Collett sizing vs Neck sizing vs FL size, well I grab the first round out the box and it's a FL sized round and fire darn stiff recoil, but the kicker was bolt lift I had to beat the bold open with a leather hammer I have been loading for 53 years and have never had a bolt open so hard.

Here is what i'm loading and nothing has changed from before.

Case> 1x fired WW brass
Powder> 77grs of RL-19 which is 1 grain under max from Nosler manual same container of powder as before each load was weighted on a RCBS 10-10 scale (i even checked the scale) cases will only hold 79.5grs of RL-19.
Primer> Fed 215 GM
Bullet> 180gr Nosler AB
OAL is .025 off lans

Well needless to say I only fired 1 round when I got home I pulled every bullet and checked dimension and weight of all 19 which where fine, weighed every charge all were at 77grs, all primers were 215GM.

One thing I did notice was when I dumped the powder all the FL sized cases I had to put a screw driver into the case to brake up the powder it was stuck together not so with the other cases, I usually don't full lenght size my brass unless it comes from another chamber, but when I do I use Imperial wax, I have shot other cases where the powder was stuck together with no effect behond normal.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.
Remember it's where the first bullet goes out of a cold barrel that counts most.

Offline Grumulkin