Author Topic: Which do you shoot  (Read 1943 times)

Offline ole95

• Trade Count: (21)
  • Avid Poster
Which do you shoot
« on: May 06, 2012, 09:18:06 AM »
Which pistol silhouette do you shoot IHMSA or NRA

Offline Madmark

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (33)
  • Contributor
Re: Which do you shoot
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2012, 09:29:11 AM »
I started shooting IHMSA, as it was the most active in my area. (Central Wisconsin) Now that I'm located in Southwest KS, I'll shoot whatever I can find!! If you have a choice, I'd say shoot both sports, but gear up with 10" barrels on your production pistols so you conform to the rules of either IHMSA or NRA!

Offline Ken ONeill

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2012, 10:04:08 AM »
I always preferred IHMSA for long range and NRA for Hunter Pistol, but when NRA suddenly changed the Hunter Pistol Course distance to the Chickens, it annoyed a lot of people including me, due to the need to change Range impact areas, etc. Thereafter, I only shot IHMSA.

Offline 19 Turkeys

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2012, 05:03:40 AM »
IHMSA - haven't ever lived near NRA matches.

Steve W.

Offline Nobade

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2012, 03:27:59 PM »
I started out shooting with IHMSA, but all the affiliated clubs around here have folded up. Our gun club is NRA affiliated and we run matches mostly based on NRA rules, so that's what is available in Albuquerque at the moment.
"Give me a lever long enough, and a place to stand, and I'll break the lever."

Offline ole95

• Avid Poster
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2012, 10:44:37 AM »
Well I also shoot both.
Right on on the 40m chicks and the 10" vs. 12" barrel and you got Ready vs. Load
I can shoot NRA SB and BB Hunter pistol 50 miles from my house.
it's little over 3hr. away to shoot IHMSA BB and SB :( Jackson miss.
To shoot IHMSA Field pistol/small bore it's 5 1/2 hrs.  :( Gainsville Ga.
I'm not sure were I can shoot LR NRA pistol ?
jrs

Offline 35ISIT