Author Topic: Lower power ctg in older frames  (Read 731 times)

Offline PineyCreek22

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Avid Poster
Lower power ctg in older frames
« on: July 10, 2012, 05:28:06 PM »
I'm still new at this Handi game and have a couple of questions.  Are the older H&R and NEF frames strong enough to safely handle BP ctgs. such as 25-20, 32-20, 32-40, 38-55 and smokeless ctgs. like the 218 Bee, 22 Hornet?  I plan to machine one piece monoblocks so barrels are not a problem.  Also, should I want to buy a new SB1 shotgun for the receiver what gauge is best so I can readily sell the barrel to someone wanting it for a stub?  Thanks, Piney Creek
custom .357 mag monoblock, custom 30-30 Handi

Offline jedman

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (24)
  • A Real Regular
  • Retired and livin the dream !
Re: Lower power ctg in older frames
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 01:26:18 AM »
   Piney,    You didnt mention what older frames you were thinking of using but for the cartridges you listed I dont see any problem.
  I built a 44 Special rifle on a older M 48 H & R 20 ga. I have shot all kinds of loads in it up to 44 mag pressures without any problems.
 While not H & R frames, I also built rifles in 30-30 and 7X 57 R on older Savage shotgun frames and have shot hundreds of rounds thru these without problems.
     Jedman
Current handi family, 24 ga./ 58 cal ,50-70,  45 smokeless MZ, 44 belted bodeen, 44 mag,.375 H&R (wildcat),375 Win.,357 max, .340 MF ( wildcat ), 8 mm Lebel, 8x57, .303 British, 270 x 57 R,(wildcat) 256 Win Mag, 2 x 243 Win,2 x 223 Rem. 7-30 Waters &20ga.,

Offline MSP Ret

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (173)
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2012, 02:54:18 AM »
Piney, some here may differ but I have found that a 20 gauge barrel is most likely the most saleable and the best for stubbed barrel projects as well. That said, if you could get a 16 or 28 gauge and wanted to sell the barrel many would snap it up...all the best....<><....:)