Author Topic: Trail gun choice  (Read 7541 times)

Offline azmark

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Trail gun choice
« on: August 14, 2012, 05:07:52 PM »
If you owned a snub nosed 38 and a Single Six convertible, which would you take hiking?
Mark Dickinson
USAF, Retired

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Trail gun choice
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 06:01:56 PM »
What is your reason for taking a handgun?

If protection from two legged predators then the .38 or something more potent. If for snake protection or plinking as you go then the Ruger Single Six.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline tobster

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (18)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 06:25:12 PM »
I prefer my 5 shot .38 with ( I think) a 3"barrel.  I can shoot low-power reloads for plinking and small game and +P loads if things take a more serious turn. I like the single-six a lot, but my Model 60 is just more comfortable to carry.

Offline 5kwkdw3

• Avid Poster
  • Biggest Golf Ball Cannon I Ever Owned.
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2012, 10:44:07 PM »