Author Topic: Handgun buying tips  (Read 925 times)

Offline Wolfe

• Trade Count: (0)
Handgun buying tips
« on: February 08, 2004, 08:07:42 AM »
I am a handgun noob :) I am looking to buy my first centerfire handgun. I am looking in the Ruger, CZ, springfield XD price range. My intended uses for this gun will be plinking/target shooting, carry sidearm while hunting and possible concealed carry, altho that is not a huge factor in my decision making process, it would be a nice option to have.
   I am looking for suggestions as to safety features to look for, caliber selection, and thought on specific models you may reccomend.
   I have been doing alot of reading and visiting the local gun shop and most guns seem to fit my hand fine as i have average sized hands. I am looking at getting a .40s&w intially and later possible getting a 9mm conversion barrel for it since it doesn't seem you can go the other way easily.
     I appreciate any and all info.
                   Wolfe

Offline green jeans

Handgun buying tips
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2004, 11:54:45 AM »
I have a couple of Rugers and a couple of Glocks that I have had for quite a while. I have a Ruger P95 (9mm) and a P94 (40 cal.). The Rugers are big and not very pretty as pistols go, but in my experience will shoot anything you put in them, from the cheap Wolf steel case on up. Cannot remember that either of them has ever malfunctioned in any way. They are hard to beat for dependability and are American made. I'm not sure you will have much luck in obtaining caliber conversions for the pistols you mentioned, but there are people out there that know a lot more about that option than i do. Really can't go wrong with 40 cal. Easy to shoot in the bigger guns, stopping power, and good availability of inexpensive plinking rounds and "the good stuff". Just my opinion, but you can't go wrong with the Ruger.
Romans 8:38,39

Offline Iowegan

• A Real Regular
Handgun buying tips