Author Topic: Cannon Charge Question  (Read 656 times)

Offline buickgs

• Trade Count: (0)
Cannon Charge Question
« on: October 27, 2012, 04:04:46 PM »
Greetings all.
Great site and full of useful info. I’m new to Cannoneering and would greatly appreciate some advice on loading techniques. I finished building a replica of  U.S. Constitution Deck Cannon. Barrel is ½ scale with 1 ½” bore.
Here’s the problem: Half  the time I get a very loud and sharp report with a nice fire ball, but the other half  I get a muffled “pffft” sound with almost no fire ball. I’m using Pyrodex RS. I roll the powder charge container using 3 layers of heavy foil and fill a thin plastic sandwich bag  with 1.5 oz powder and place it in the foil container. Both ends are pressed tight. I insert the charge and lightly seat it with the ram. I then wad up a single sheet of paper towel and lightly tamp that on top of the charge. No projectiles are used.
I do this exact same procedure each time, but half the time I get a dud firing. I have tried tamping a little harder, and also a little lighter but no difference. I must be doing something wrong to get these dud sounding reports. This is getting very frustrating (and embarrassing in front of my gang of friends), so any suggestions are truly welcome.
Rick

Offline Doc Brown.

• Contributor
Re: Cannon Charge Question
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2012, 04:13:10 PM »
I think you need more wadding.
I would wonder how safe plastic sandwich bags are! Sounds pretty staticy elctrictyish.

PS  Your small font gave me a migraine.

Offline flagman1776

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2012, 04:32:47 PM »
Pydrodex is poor for blank charges...  Use real black powder & you'll get a proper report.  Wadding is not necessary with black powder.  Baggies are suggested by some but I prefer not to use them & a well formed foil is pretty water tight.
Do you use a pick to insert your fuse into the foil cartridge?