Author Topic: Beginner questions  (Read 612 times)

Offline hillbillyjim

• Trade Count: (1)
Beginner questions
« on: December 04, 2012, 11:32:10 AM »
Hey, guys.
I'm not only new to GBO, I'm new to H&Rs. I signed up here 'cause a good friend over at Cast Boolits told me this is THE place to learn about them.
Reloader88 came up to visit today and we did a barrel trade. We also did a little shootin', too. Some was ammo and some was BS! By the way, I think he's a fine young man.
I now understand the difference about the receivers. I have a question about the calibers that can be put on the cast iron ones. Where can I get a list of calibers that be shot from this type?
I'm 60 years old and long quit loading the hot stuff. On the contrary, I like experimenting with super low power loads. I tell you that so you may be able to help.
.30-30 Win. is a caliber I have brass, bullets and dies for and it's really calling my name.
Thanks to all here. I'm enjoying myself!
Jim Connor
Floyd, VA

Offline cudatruck

• Trade Count: (25)
  • A Real Regular
Re: Beginner questions
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2012, 11:54:03 AM »
Welcome Jim! I sent a sb1 frame to the factory to have a .357 barrel fitted. thought it would be great. just remove the 20ga barrel and presto a neat little rifle. ran into a problem. the shotguns come with a larger firing pin. factory ammo ,not hot handloads, were having pierced primers and primer brass flowing back around the firing pin. 357 cases loaded with a light 38 special powder charge were ok. I bought a handi rifle in .45-70 and tried the 357 on it's sb2 frame. no more primer problems even with 357 maximum ammo. with this said i can't recomend putting one on a shotgun frame, but that may just be this gun. losts of guys on here have done it with no problems. Also there are some sb1s with the smaller rifle firng pin.
Mike.

Offline bigvarmnt

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (56)
  • N. E. Indiana
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2012, 12:04:34 PM »