Author Topic: Scope rings on M77 Mark II  (Read 826 times)

Offline atitagain

• Trade Count: (67)
  • A Real Regular
Scope rings on M77 Mark II
« on: December 29, 2012, 09:39:35 PM »
This might really sound like an odd question, but here goes anyhow.

I just purchased an M77 Mark II in .300 Win. Mag.
When I went to put my Bushnell 4X12X40 scope on it, I noticed the rings are not exactly the same.
One is higher then the other.
Looking at this gun, I don't believe it has ever been fired.
Bore is perfect, and there is no primer ring on the bolt face.
I have never used Ruger rings before, but this just doesn't look right.
Am I right, or is this just something different?
If I put the higher ring on the back, the scope lines up with my eye just right. But the front bell almost touches the barrel.
If I switch the rings around, the front bell is fine, but I have trouble lining my eye with the scope.
Do I just buy another higher ring?
Are they marked somehow as to height?
Or do I just take the higher ring with me and tell them I need another one of these?
I mean "It just doesn't look right!"
Thanks for any help. Even as simple as I think it might be. ;D
I carry a single shot.
'cause it only takes one shot.

Offline George Foster

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Re: Scope rings on M77 Mark II
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, 12:39:27 AM »
If your rifle has the Ruger rings then the rear ring is higher than the front one. That is the way the Ruger rings are set up from the factory and they are excellent rings.  If you look at the receiver you will see the milled base is taller in the front than it is in the rear.
Good Shooting,
George

Offline JPShelton

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2012, 01:46:47 AM »
As George Foster stated, if they are Ruger factory supplied rings, the taller one attaches to the rear receiver bridge while the shorter of the two attaches to the foward receiver ring.