Author Topic: Wanted to share my modified H&R 12ga. Cut the barrel & made a ghost ring sight.  (Read 1576 times)

Offline michaelmcgo

• Trade Count: (0)
I started a thread on another site about cutting down the H&R my Dad gave me.  It's not a sentimental gun, he didn't like it and I was going to buy one...  It originally had a rough "V" filed into the receiver in the incorrect position and the barrel was quite bent :what:  It patterned like this at 14 yards (just 8 BBs in the 8" circle at 25 yards).

I have access to a Bridgeport mill where I work (I am now an engineer, but worked my way up through the shop while I went to school), so I decided to chop the barrel and possibly send it in to H&R for a new barrel fitting if this is too loud for me.  The muzzle was milled at 18.500" (+/- .001") and deeply chamfered.  I put a new "bead" on it at 18.25", a stainless 4-40 socket head cap screw that I can easily switch out for something taller/shorter to "sight" it in.  If I need to change the POA left/right, I can remove still another 1/4" from the barrel and reinstall a new bead.  The homemade halo sight is made from a piece of 3/8" x 3/8" steel, it has a .168" hole in it.  I patterned it after the XS sight I have on my 1894, but with a thicker ring for a quicker pickup.  The rear sight is installed into the receiver by way of a precision cut 3/8" wide groove and a 6-32 flat head cap screw.  I fit the wood a bit better and refinished it.  My last part of this project is to find a 1" recoil pad I can fit to the stock.