Author Topic: My first two fabricated BP cannons: .30 and .50 miniature nontraditionals  (Read 607 times)

Offline tiktock

• Trade Count: (0)
Hello!

I am a knifemaker from NH and I recently decided to fabricate two small black powder cannons.  I read some of the safety specs and tried to stay within them as I am a complete beginner in the cannon world.  I wanted to show the fruits of my labor and a bit of the process of each and ask what i could/should have done differently.  Both cannons function great!

Here are a few pics of my first one, a .30 caliber designed to shoot 5/16" ball bearings.

I began with a pretty solid hunk of steel.  Its nothing special as I've found mild steel is more than enough for these based on research.  I first cleaned up the block on my Bridgeport mill for squareness and sprayed it with layout fluid.  The block began with dimensions around 2.75"X1.5"X1.25":

Next I scribed some lines to keep things relatively straight.  I didn't go anal retentive on precision here as this is not as intricate as my folding knives but I am a bit OCD about certain things so its still pretty dead on.  I'll be shooting 5/16" ball bearing out of this (slingshot ammo) so I first drilled a starter hole a bit smaller.

Here it is all lined up.  What you dont see is i have the block angled about 5-10 degrees so that the fuse burns at an angle towards the front of the bore.  I let the fuse hole intersect the bore a few mm from the rear of the chamber:

Into my shop I went and bored the hole out to 5/16.  A 5/16 ball bearing is exactly .0312 while a 5/16 drill bit is .03125 although without going crazy with tolerances and care it usually leaves a hole a smidge bigger.  Here's the full 5/16 bore done:

Next I headed over to my little beast of a grinder.  It runs a 2"x72" belt off a 2HP motor and hogs steel as well as flesh pretty easily.  I've lost more skin to this badboy over the years than I care to mention.  I've paid it in blood and its paid me back.