Author Topic: Ultra Slug or rifled 11-87?  (Read 966 times)

Offline Big

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Ultra Slug or rifled 11-87?
« on: April 24, 2004, 06:28:21 PM »
My smoothbore Rem 870 shoots tight groups at 50 yards with rem slugger rifled slugs, but I don't trust it much beyond that.  Trying to decide between putting a cantilever scope mount Hastings rifled barrel on my 11-87, or buying an Ultra Slug for less than the cost of the 11-87 barrel.  Although I have a feeling what the replies will be in this forum, what are your thoughts?
"...the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed."

Offline VarmintController

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2004, 11:55:30 PM »
first off i have an older 870 wingmaster (2 3/4 only) with a smoothbore slug barrel, and i would trust it at 100 yrds with a good slug like a brenneke.  you might want to try some different slugs before spending a bunch on money for nothing.  but as far as the other choice goes i would have to know what you want to do with it. if its a brush beater with a scope, and you are going to be lugging it around all the time, i would not use a 10lb ultra slug myself, maybe a tracker2, those are nice and light to lug around, and my son's 20ga tracker2 with a williams peep shoots like a dream. even the 11-87 would not be bad for a brush gun, and a far cry from being a 10lb monster. now to hunt fields, clearcuts, or even some hardwood ridges where you are not going to be walking around all day the 12ga ultra slug would be a great choice, so i guess it kinda depends on what you are going to do with it?? then i could tell you which one i would vote for.
The Proud Owner Of AMERICAN Made Guns!

Offline rmtaylor

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2004, 12:36:26 PM »