Author Topic: .375-.408 BT high BC hunting bullet....anyone?  (Read 1480 times)

Offline nielsenbe

• Trade Count: (0)
.375-.408 BT high BC hunting bullet....anyone?
« on: May 02, 2004, 04:42:52 PM »
I have no bullet making experience at this point. I would like a 375-408 boat tail high BC bullet. Does anyone know of someone making these style bullets? I want to neck down a BMG case and get these bullets to a 3500 fps velocity if possible. I am guessing it would be very difficult to get jacket material and possibly dies for such bullets. I am looking for any information or ideas you guys have.

Thanks, Brad

Offline talon

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • A Real Regular
.375-.408 BT high BC hunting bullet....anyo
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2004, 05:13:36 PM »
375-408?  Is this the possible caliber range of the bullet you are looking to design for, or a jacketed .375cal having 408gr, or a .408 having 375gr?
  I make .375"d, .406"d and .411"d bullets, but not in a BT design. Generally speaking you don't see many BTs above .308"d, as the design works best for sub-sonic ballistics (I think) in the smaller calibers. Maybe what you are after is the ULD (ultra long distance) with BT or RBT design. This would be a long bullet with a nose of from 8S to 12S (spitzer). I know of no one who could help with such a bullet supply. 8)

Offline Donna

• Contributor
    • http://www.aeroballisticsonline.com
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2004, 09:00:59 PM »
:D Let me first welcome you to the forum.