Author Topic: HK USP Compact .40 or Sig Sauer P229  (Read 1477 times)

Offline tonke73

• Trade Count: (0)
HK USP Compact .40 or Sig Sauer P229
« on: June 06, 2004, 11:12:57 AM »
I've narrowed it down to a HK USP Compact .40 in a Variant 1 or Sig Sauer P229 .40. I have no firing experience with either. I've held both pistols and they feel perfect in my hands. Anybody have any opinions?

Offline VSSF

• Avid Poster
I vote HK.
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2004, 12:14:15 PM »
I love my USP compact (.40) I've got meprolights on it and it's never jammed or had a fail to fire in the 3 years i've had it now.It carries great and feels like an extention of my arm.

Offline Thebear_78

• Trade Count: (1)
I'll second the HK
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2004, 03:39:28 PM »
I had a HK usp compact just like the one above for three years before I moved to alaska, I sold it to my uncle and he still has it.  To date there has been absolutely no failures of any kind with that pistol.  all told probably 3,000 rounds thru it and no failures.  It is very accurate and completely reliable.  I would choose it any day over the sig.  My dad on the other had really likes the sigs so it will probably boil down to personal preference.  I'm a die hard 1911 kind of guy but would feel very comfortable carrying a HK compact.

Offline tonke73

Re: I'll second the HK
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2004, 09:59:40 AM »
I went to the gun store this weekend and looked again at the P229 and USP. They are identical in size. The decocker is much, much smoother on the Sig. The Sig also has replaceable grips where the HK does not.

I just ordered the HK this morning. My transfer agent's FFL is in the mail and I should be getting it soon.

Are there any break in procedures I should follow? Thanks for the past replies.

Offline Thebear_78

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2004, 03:29:53 PM »