Author Topic: Reducing Powder Chamber  (Read 1135 times)

Offline Pogue

• Trade Count: (0)
Reducing Powder Chamber
« on: June 09, 2004, 10:24:22 AM »
As mentioned in earlier posts, I recently acquired one of the Dixie 2 1/4" Coehorn mortars, and want to launch some billiard balls on the 4th of July!  However, I'm really concerned that the powder chamber is WAY too big (Dixie says to use 400-600gr).  I was thinking something more on the order of 50-100gr, so the ball will only go 100yds or so.

I have a couple of ideas for constructing an insert to achieve this, and wanted to get some "expert" opinions here.  I hope the attachment feature works, as this is my first try on this forum!  

Plan A is to machine an insert from brass, aluminum or stainless steel that is just under the bore diameter.  The powder chamber would not go all the way through the insert, but be more like a "cup".  The vent hole would be drilled and tapped so the vent liner would effectively lock the insert in place.  I figured an o-ring might be required in order to keep gasses from back flowing and blowing out the insert itself upon firing.

Plan B is essentially a permanent modification, where I'd just pore some molten lead and then bore out a 1/2" powder chamber.

Any ideas on this, or am I totally off my rocker?  BTW, any guesstimates on how far a pool ball would go with 400gr of BP?!

Online Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Reducing Powder Chamber
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2004, 11:04:52 AM »
Is the bore of your coehorn all one diameter or is there a separate powder chamber?

If you have a separate chamber just reduce your charge to the amount you want load and fire.  As long as the billiard balls have windage and are  not a tight fit  you should not have problems.  Straight bore fire away.
The only concern I have is that the billiard balls may shatter in the bore and spew fragments all over.  Not good.