Author Topic: Won't eject 2 out of 20  (Read 1973 times)

Offline Bis

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Won't eject 2 out of 20
« on: June 26, 2004, 12:10:33 PM »
I finished shooting a box of Win. factory loaded rounds with no problems ejecting any cases. I then neck sized all the brass and chambered all the rounds to make sure there would be no problems. 2 out of the 20 rounds would not eject. I tried cleaning the chamber to be sure there was not crud left from the other 18 rounds. No luck. I then re-neck sized the 2 cases with the same results. Do I need to do the full case sizing thing or what.

I have resisted full case sizing since I am trying to work up a load for my 243 and am not sure that I would get the same results if I mix neck sized and full length sized rounds ( I am new at reloading).

Anyone have any ideas why the 2 rounds stuck and am I being to picky at having all my brass set up the same way?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Won't eject 2 out of 20
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2004, 12:38:51 PM »
Polish that chamber, it's a known fix for failure to eject for the H&R/NEF singles. I've read a couple reviews on the handis and UVs, the one commonality was FTE, even with factory ammo. One reviewer even recommended sticking with rimmed cartridges only! Most everyone fixes it with a good chamber polish using metal polish like flitz and good cleaning habits and making sure there's no oil in the chamber.....hth

http://www.graybeardoutdoors.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=36233
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline Bis

• Avid Poster
Won't eject 2 out of 20
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2004, 12:53:22 PM »