Author Topic: Bullet Sizer - Star or Saeco  (Read 1802 times)

Offline haroldclark

• Trade Count: (13)
  • Contributor
Bullet Sizer - Star or Saeco
« on: July 05, 2004, 03:29:48 PM »
The question is which is most suitable for all purposes.  It is my opinion that the Saeco (Redding) lubricator/sizer/gas check seater all in one is the  most versatile.

I have both.  I bought the Star lubrisizer in the late 70s.  I had two of them and I still own one of them.  I used them exclusively for pistol bullets of all sizes and it worked great for many thousands of bullets.

I started shooting cast bullet rifle loads in the early 80s and I bought a (Redding) Saeco sizer.  

A while back, I read about using the Star to seat gas checks and size rifle bullets.  I ordered a .310 die with a flat top punch to give the Star a run.  

Putting the gas check on the base and aligning it up with the punch was at best a pitiful substitute for the Saeco.  Yes, I put the nose of the bullet in first.  If the gas checks didn't fit the bullet shank easily, there was not enough pressure to cause a good seat of the check.  

The Saeco has two vertical shafts that keep the top punch aligned with the bullet in the die.  A top punch to match the bullet goes in the top punch and the bullet is perfectly aligned on the axis of the sizing die.  If your bullet is not a Saeco Mold, you can obtain an oversized top punch and make it fit the nose of your bullet by using epoxy filler.

In the past 3 years, I have cast and loaded 29,551 bullets.  20,294 of those bullets were gas checked rifle loadings. In addition, I have sized and gas checked 3,444 Oregon Trail Laser Cast rifle bullets and fired them.

For all of the above mentioned cast bullets I used the Saeco lubricator/sizer.  The accuracy is excellent.

I really like my Star, but it is not the "Star" when it comes to gas checked bullets.