Author Topic: Cup pressures for the NEF Handi-Rifle  (Read 1126 times)

Offline Natman

• Trade Count: (0)
Cup pressures for the NEF Handi-Rifle
« on: August 17, 2004, 04:09:46 PM »
I recently bought the 45-70 Handi-Rifle SB2..Am planning on handloading my own soon..I was wonderin what the maximum safe pressure would be for this rifle?I'm planning on only using 300grain bullets and trying to keep Recoil at or around 32 to 35 ft lbs for now but get at least 2050 fps at the muzzle..Does this sound feasible..I'm fairly new to these bigger bore guns and usin 300grain Winchester HP at 1880fps and 22 ft.lbs. recoil.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2004, 04:28:44 PM »
Anyone see Clarke's 45-70 Handi tests?

"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline Mac11700

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2004, 06:25:05 PM »
Natmam:

Any of the Marlin loading data for the 45-70 is ok to shoot in the Handi.Getting 2050 fps with a 300 grain bullet isn't to difficult to achieve...problem is as the velocity goes up...so too does the recoil.Try adding some lead bird shot in the stock bolt hole...and learn to roll with the shot will help a great deal...also you could add a mercury recoil suppresoor to the butt stock instead of the bird shot...if the recoil is still too much Past makes a recoil pad to wear on your shoulder...one thing to remember about the good ole 45-70...they shot end to end thru Bison with slower loadings,heavier bullets of plain lead bullets with Black Powder...and if your going to do a-lot of shooting off the bench with it...try sitting up-right to shoot...it helps a great deal...

Mac
You can cry me a river... but...build me a bridge and then get over it...

Offline handirifle

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
    • http://www.handirifle.com
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2004, 06:57:18 PM »
Natman