Author Topic: Caliber?  (Read 1633 times)

Offline Pass the mustard

• Trade Count: (0)
Caliber?
« on: August 23, 2004, 02:30:36 PM »
I appreciate all the advice you guys have given me.  I won't be buying the rifle for a month or so.  Maybe you could help me with the caliber.  I like the prospect of a cartridge with lower recoil, and I only need enough power for deer, not elk.  I ruled out a .243 because of a not-so-great selection of factory ammo, and the Handi can only stabilize bullets 85 grains and under (according to the threads I've read here).  I could use a little more power than that, since I'm new at this game.  The reason I was leaning toward the .270 is because the other calibers I was considering aren't available in the stainless model, which I would prefer.  But I could also go with blued, if a different caliber would be a better choice for me.  For my particular application (mule deer and maybe blacktail in northern Washington), I was also considering the 7mm-08, .25-06, and .308.

Since I'm not a handloader, a good selection of factory loads with premium (partition) bullets is important to me.  The 7mm-08 and .25-06 are appealing for their accuracy and low recoil, but there doesn't seem to be many factory loads for them.  I also thought I read somewhere that Handi's in .25-06 have poor accuracy, is that right?  Or was that just one person that happened to get a lemon?  The .308 has a huge selection of factory ammo, but it's a step up in recoil from the other two (about the same as a .270, isn't it?).  I guess you can tell by now I don't like recoil. :mrgreen:  I suppose I could install one of those liquid mercury recoil reducers in the buttstock.

Between these three calibers and the .270, can you provide any insights on which would be best for my situation?  (I should probably mention that I only have experience with an AR-15 and a .45 flintlock.)

Offline greenjeans

• A Real Regular
Caliber?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2004, 02:49:31 PM »