Author Topic: Glock vs 1911  (Read 692 times)

Offline DelGue

• Trade Count: (0)
Glock vs 1911
« on: September 08, 2004, 04:11:31 PM »
Glock vs 1911

I can't quite make up my mind which would be the best in a self-defense type situation.  

In November, I'm going to "Front Sight" for a 4 day combat shoot.... I believe they lean toward the Glock (of which I have a few), but I have some really nice Kimbers too.

FYI, I have a lot of experience with the Beretta 92.  But I've recently found the 1911s/Glocks.  A whole new world for me....

Honestly, I'm an Ol' Revolver Guy!  

Any input would be appreciated.
Del Gue

Offline ButlerFord45

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (10)
Glock vs 1911
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2004, 12:31:32 AM »
Take'em all.  Sounds like an excellent time for you to personally evaluate which works best for you.
Butler Ford
He who does not punish evil, commands it to be done.-Leonardo da Vinci
An armed society is a polite society-Robert A. Heinlein
Only the dead have seen the end of war- Plato
Lord, make my words as sweet as honey
tomorrow I may have to eat them- A lady's sweatshirt

Offline strider72

• Avid Poster
Glock vs 1911
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2004, 03:38:04 PM »
Have to agree. THe Kimbers are excellent and so are the Glocks. Kimbers generally are more accurate though.

Offline RKBAHolsters

Glock vs 1911
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2004, 08:43:52 AM »
For me, I'm starting to think Glock is better for CCW type work.

Then a, 1911 or a traditional DA/SA is better for a home defense weapon.

I just don't want to think about safeties when confronting with a quick life or death situation, but want a safety or heavier trigger pull when awaken out of a deep sleep at 3AM.

Like the others said take them both and figure out what works for you.

Steve

Offline TScottO

• Trade Count: (2)
  • A Real Regular
Glock vs 1911
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2004, 10:07:51 AM »