Author Topic: Who is the cheapest online ammo source?  (Read 516 times)

Offline johne

• Trade Count: (0)
Who is the cheapest online ammo source?
« on: October 18, 2004, 01:07:07 PM »
I am new to the handgun hobby and with all of the resources out there for ammo and supplies, I just don't know. I bought the Sig P229 locally and found the lasermax for 309.00 which I thought was pretty cheap and I have also bought a thunderwear holster. Now for ammo. I haven't found any good articles that discusss what difference the grain count makes and what makes a +P load versus an FMJ. Just a real newb and need some education. I will be shooting a lot at the range for awhile so price on is a consideration. Ironically, while looking for ammo online I came across this Wolf brand but when I did further searches on that specific ammo, there were some unfavorable comments made. So, to summarize, I need:

a) information on loads
b) recommendations of ammo manufacturers
c) recommendation of a cheap place to buy ammo online

Thanks in advance :P

Offline greenjeans

• A Real Regular
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2004, 02:17:26 PM »
Cheaper Than Dirt has good prices, but you have to pay additional shipping. Ammoman.com has pretty good prices and shipping is included. For plinking and/or getting familiar with your pistol, Winchester white box, UMC yellow box and Sellier & Bellot are good. Some folks don't like the S&B, but I have shot a ton of it and never had a problem. Enjoy your new toy. :-)  :-)
Romans 8:38,39

Offline Mikey

• GBO Supporter
  • Moderators
  • Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2004, 03:40:58 AM »
johne:  I will go with greenjeans and his recommendation for Sellier and Bellot ammo.  It is new production, brass cased and reloadable.  Even if you do not reload, yet, S&B is a good buy.