Author Topic: New Military Caliber Being Tested-  (Read 2885 times)

Offline Henry Bowman

• Trade Count: (0)
New Military Caliber Being Tested-
« on: January 25, 2003, 11:25:38 AM »
Evan Marshall let the new slip that the Army is testing a new wildcat 6.8 caliber based on the 5.56 NATO.
It sure sounds like someone stole JDs 7mm TCU!??

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2003, 12:37:34 PM »
The TCUs aren't JD's rounds. His all are JDJs.

The TCUs are Thompson Center Uglade for a man named Wes Uglade that came up with them for all to enjoy. They could sure do a lot worse than the little 7 TCU. I love that little round and it really works well.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Daveinthebush

Heard that too...
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2003, 02:01:16 PM »
I remember reading a few months ago in a news article that some US troops in Afganistan were complaining that it sometimes took more than one bullet to knock the enemy down and to keep him down.  

I have known know this since I was in the Jewel of the Orient back in 1970-72.  If it did not work then, why would it now?

Jeff Cooper once suggested the .243 or the 7mm/08 as a better choice. He has a point and it seems that the military is now listening to someone.

It will be interesting to see what developes from this. At least it will give us some new rifle calibers and military rifles to play with.
AK Bowhunting Certification Instructor
AK Hunter Certification Instructor
IBEP Bowhunting Certification Instructor

Offline Matt in AK

• Contributor
9mm
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2003, 05:31:22 PM »