Author Topic: help me get started  (Read 809 times)

Offline harley45

• Trade Count: (0)
help me get started
« on: December 06, 2004, 08:28:08 AM »
I've been casting my own bullets for a few years and would like to get into swaging now. I want to start out making them for my .45 acp. Perhaps a 200 gr. wadcutter style, and a 230gr. hollowpoint. I have no idea how to get started or what equipment to buy. Can you folks point me in the right direction?
Thanks Eric

Offline onomrbil

help me get started
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2004, 12:43:36 PM »
Have a look at www.ch4d.com.  They make a good set of .45 swaging dies that are not very expensive and will give you an idea of what is expected.  These dies also have the advantage of not requiring a swaging press or modifications to your current reloading press.  C&H also sells jackets and core moulds, lead wire, etc.  I have made a pile of .452s using C&H dies and they are quite satisfactory for getting started.

Offline Donna

• Contributor
    • http://www.aeroballisticsonline.com
help me get started
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2004, 02:01:15 PM »
Give a talk to Richard Corbin at RCE. Co. (541) 512-0440, email is: info@rceco.com.

Just tell him what you want to do and get a quote. You cannot go wrong with his swaging press, The Walnut Hill, and his dies are tops but reasonably priced.

Donna
"Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath: For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God. James 1:19-20

Offline talon

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • A Real Regular
help me get started
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2004, 02:32:54 PM »