Author Topic: Model 29 S&W  (Read 868 times)

Offline Riverrat

• Trade Count: (0)
Model 29 S&W
« on: December 09, 2004, 01:32:37 PM »
I have a Model 29  8&3/8" bbl. I would like to put a scope on it for close range coyote hunting, I have no experience with a scoped handgun. What kind of accuracy should I expect at 45-65 yards.

Offline Alabama26

Model 29 S&W
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2004, 04:00:24 PM »
Hey, Riverrat.
Not to be a smarty, but how accurate is it now? If your good with an iron sighted handgun you will not see that much improvement. There are really two issues. the mechanical accuracy of the gun (a scope won't change this though it may help you make better use of it) and our human ability to use iron sights. I'm not what I use to be with iron sights. I find scopes help me reduce group sizes a lot. your results may vary. I would want to keep my groups in about 4" from field positions at the ranges I planned to shoot. I would consider an red dot sight or 2x handgun scope for what you want. I once shot a ruger redhawk with an aimpoint that would shoot 180 gr factory loads around 1" at 25yd. Sweet.

Mike

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Model 29 S&W
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2004, 07:08:59 PM »
For your use on coyotes I think a red dot would be better. Up close even the best of handgun scopes have a pitiful FOV. Best is 21' at 100 yards. So cut that in half or less where you're talking about. Trying to get a moving coyote in the FOV and get the shot off ain't easy. If your eyes don't cut it with irons anymore look at a red dot for coyotes.

For a more direct answer to your question of accuracy the 29 should easily do 2" at 50 yards with loads it likes IF you do your part. I've shot that at 100 yards with S&Ws scoped.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.