Author Topic: 30-06 for 7mm, or any other options?  (Read 1816 times)

Offline dkale5

• Trade Count: (0)
30-06 for 7mm, or any other options?
« on: January 31, 2003, 01:40:59 PM »
:?: I have had so many folks tell me that I need a flatter shooting rifle. I am moving to Wyoming and have a Remington 700 30-06. I have been told numerous times that I need to seriously consider a 7 mag. I've even been told to get a 270. I do not currently reload, but I am wanting to get equipped and get started. So here is my question. I need a good accurate rifle for western hunting. Mostly pronghorn and deer, with an occasional Elk. What should I look for. I am wanting to get outfitted right once, and use this rifle for most of my hunting needs, (except for very large or very small critters). Thanks for your imput guys, I'm pretty new at being serious, but love to hunt!
"For what if some did not believe? Shall their unbelief make the faith of God without effect? God forbid: yea, let God be true, but every man a liar...."

Offline longwinters

• Moderators
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2003, 03:33:13 PM »
I have not hunted (yet) out west but have a trip planned in Oct. for Wyoming antelope.  My brother in law is president of Frontier Bible College just NW of Cheyenne. I have asked a lot of questions here and have read everything I could get my hands on.  I have an 06 and have just ordered a 7mm.  But out to 300 yards there is not a nickels worth of difference between the 3 calibers you mentioned.  I have never been a 270 fan, not because it isnt an excellent caliber but just because the thought of having one  never blew my hair back.  You will find a very strong following on this forum for the 30-06.  I would pick the one that YOU like and let everyone else argue their personal favorites.  For trajectory tables and recoil tables look at Chuck Hawks website.  Lots and Lots of very interesting articles about many calibers.  Enjoy the West!
Life is short......eternity is long.