Author Topic: 375 H&H  (Read 1117 times)

Offline Chief

• Trade Count: (0)
375 H&H
« on: February 06, 2003, 04:52:00 PM »
I started casting a little more than a year ago.  I don't know many folks that cast here in Alaska so I had to go about learning things the best I could, mostly reading this forum, the internet, and Veral Smith's book.  I was able to get my hands on quite a bit of W-Ws, pure lead, and antimony that I purchased from the Antimony Man, Bill Ferguson.  I also purchased quit a bit of Lee's liquid Alox and made a home made brew of 50% moly lube and 50% bees wax.

In my 44mag and 38 spec, I generally use pure W-Ws with a little tin added, lube with Alox, and then fill the grooves with my homemade lube mix when sizing.  My groups are pretty ugly but I think that's more my fault and I get no leading at all.  Actually I don't get any leading even when I use just the Alox.  I have no experience with rifles...yet.

I have a Marlin 30-30 and Win M-70 375 H&H that I want to start shooting cast bullets in.  Although I haven't shot any cast in the 30-30, I don't expect to have to much of a problem with it.  However, I can't find a lot if information on the 375 H&H.  I have cast quit a few bullet with a Lyman 375449 mold.  I used a mix of what I believe is pretty close to 90% lead, 8% antimony, and 2% tin.   It looks to me like several lube groove will be outside the case when seated in the brass.