Author Topic: 12ga Slugs  (Read 1037 times)

Offline 10ga.

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
12ga Slugs
« on: February 20, 2005, 04:13:36 PM »
Has anyone here had any experience shooting or reloading these:

http://www.gardnerscache.com/12ga_525_slug.html
Paul Corbett
NEF 10ga SB2-MAB 
Handi-Rifle 30-06 Synthetic
H&R 12ga SB2-980 Ultra Slug
S&W .357 Model 586
"Peace Through Superior Firepower"

Offline Markus

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (15)
12ga Slugs
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2005, 04:19:05 PM »
I have no experience reloading in general but at $6.00 for 25 it doesn't seem worth the trouble since foster style slugs are about $6.00 for a box of 15.
PROUD REDNECK CONSERVATIVE

I'd much rather be remembered for being a great shot than having the most expensive gun

Offline Critter

• Contributor
12ga Slugs
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2005, 04:25:31 PM »
Yes I have loaded and shot quite a few of these.  I haven't shot them in an H&R but I have shot them in a 870 and 11-87 with rifled barrels.  They are difficult to load sometimes depending on the hull and wad used.  They always shot very well 2 - 5" groups at 100 yards, but something outshot them in every gun I used so I have never hunted with them.  Make sure these are cast out of pure lead if your going to use them for hunting.  I do know several who have and they swear by them.  

Markus,
The advantage is with a rifled barrel.  They use a Winchester 1 1/4 oz wad as a sabot so you get no leading in the bore and they are dang accurate, and cheap for a sabot.

Offline Markus

• Moderators
12ga Slugs
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2005, 04:32:21 PM »
Now I see a good reason to reload them if they can be shot through a rifled barrel with out the leading. I don't shoot a lot of sabot slugs in the off season because they are so pricy, but I shoot a couple rifled slugs evry time I take a walk just for giggles.

I'd much rather be remembered for being a great shot than having the most expensive gun

Offline 10ga.