Author Topic: Fitting a hand gun  (Read 451 times)

Offline williamlayton

• Trade Count: (0)
Fitting a hand gun
« on: February 25, 2005, 10:22:13 PM »
Folks i play golf and i understand fitting clubs, shafts and grips on those things but i do not understand the fitting ergonomics of pistol grips.
Please provide a thought on such a process.
Blessings
TEXAS, by GOD

Offline PeterF.

• Avid Poster
Fitting a hand gun
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2005, 04:37:37 AM »
I'm no expert, but I've got a few handguns and held a lot more.  Some just feel better in the hand than others ... point more naturally & "directly" when picked up in a quick "natural" grip.  Two examples I can think of are: 1) the Ruger Vaquero, which you can get with either a "normal", Bisley, or birdshead grip ... same basic gun, different grip, which will each feel different to different shooter's hand; 2) Browning HiPower, with either the stock flat-sided walnut grips or the shaped plastic grips ... the latter just point more naturally (for me).  What with all the options of "stock", manufacturer-provided grips, plus the various aftermarket ones you can buy, I guess you could somehow improve the ergonomics by having truly "custom-fitted" grips made ... ones that actually consider YOUR hand size/shape.  Anyway, it's the same way your golf clubs (or rifle stock) is fitted to YOUR actual bodily quirks.  OR, like 90+% of us, you just adjust yourself to whatever the company sold you and do as good as you can.

Offline papajohn428

• A Real Regular
Fitting a hand gun
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2005, 06:11:18 AM »