Author Topic: Leupold's long eyebox  (Read 542 times)

Offline Dave in WV

• Trade Count: (0)
Leupold's long eyebox
« on: March 27, 2005, 10:25:11 AM »
Am I wrong or is the "long eyebox" Leupold is touted to have only on varible scopes? I understood it to only exist with the nonconstant eye relief of Leupold varibles. A fixed power scope even on Leupold scopes has a fixed eye relief.
Setting an example is not the main means of influencing others; it is the only means
--Albert Einstein

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Leupold's long eyebox
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2005, 10:47:47 AM »
I've never heard anyone refer to anything on a scope as an "eye box" except you. If you'll please define the term as you use it we might be able to better respond to your question. I just honestly do not understand what you are calling an "eye box" so cannot address your question.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Dave in WV

Leupold's long eyebox
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2005, 11:13:21 AM »
Quote from vernonp's post under "better optics" -  (I have one of the new FX 4 scopes on order now from the optic zone. I decided to change out the scope on my Kimber 84 308 to this scope because of the better sight picture or eye box as it's often referred to)

I first encountered the "long eye box" subject over on either 24 hour campfire or Hunt America by someone that posted under "Leupold". The basis of the long eye box claim is it is more forgiving for eye alignment and was pointed out how Leupold scopes don't have a constant eye relief. The distance between the min and max eye relief was refereed to as the eye box. The Leupold fans went into a feeding frenzy about it.

Vernon, I wasn't flaming you. Dave :D