Author Topic: Newbie questions...NEF combos  (Read 930 times)

Offline Servo77

• Trade Count: (0)
Newbie questions...NEF combos
« on: April 06, 2005, 06:28:55 AM »
Hi all, I just found this forum and am wondering something.  I am interested in getting a muzzleloader for deer hunting.  I have been looking at the NEF combos that feature the 50 cal muzzleloader and 28" 12 gauge barrel.  I cannot find any "just muzzleloaders" around home.  I am also new to NEF.  Quality build?  Are they accurate?  

Here is my main concern.....can you change out the barrels in the combos yourself, or does it need to be sent back to NEF for that?  I know that they will change barrels on other guns, but it requires being sent in.  Do the combos they sell allow you to swap 'em yourself?

Offline mangulator

• Contributor
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2005, 08:27:12 AM »
:D welcome to the forum. You will find a lot of information that can help you with your concerns. I have a Huntsman muzzle loader and the accuracy is outstanding. The quality of NEF guns is good. I have a 30-30 and a 223 barrel and changing the barrels can be less then 3 mins. and you do it yourself with no problems. You will not go wrong with NEF combination gun.

Offline Wild Bill 442

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2005, 04:20:07 AM »
The key issue is that H&R/NEF won't sell new additional barrels unless they are fitted to the specific frame at their factory.  If you buy a combo, all you need to do is remove the forearm screw, pop off the forearm and then open the action.  The installed barrel will be free of the frame and you can mount the second barrel, add back the forearm and screw and your ready in your second configuration.  Probably takes less time to do that for me to type this.

Offline tscott

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2005, 05:14:35 AM »