Author Topic: HandiRifle Support during Firing  (Read 659 times)

Offline McLernon

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
HandiRifle Support during Firing
« on: June 12, 2005, 05:20:03 PM »
I've been trying to get my new .223 Handi to shoot for 3-4 weeks now and results are not consistent at all. Not to contradict myself I have shot some good groups so I am convinced that it's me not the rifle and has to do with shooting technique. I've tried several different methods including with a Harris bipod, with and without left hand fore-stock stabilization and with fore-stock support in front of and behind the fore-stock hold down screw. I have lots of successful experience with shooting bolt action rifles but my little Handi is starting to frustrate me because it doesn't handle anything like any bolt gun I've shot. I like my Handi allot so I'd like to learn how to shoot it.

I must admit I have not tried support under the hinge pin as I find it to be awkward. Must I learn how to shoot with support at the hinge pin?

Is there any consensus out there on what is the best way to shoot a Handii

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2005, 05:31:05 PM »
Plain and simple, the forward rest positioned under the hinge pin just ahead of the trigger guard is by far the most accurate technique. Some  Handis/Ultras aren't particular, but the majority are. It's not hard to do at all, just put it there and adjust. You can also get a solid rest that makes it real easy!

Tim

"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline Zeak

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Avid Poster
Handirifle support
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2005, 01:54:06 AM »
I have been having the same problem so willl try your advise quickdtoo.  Zeak

Offline MSP Ret

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (173)
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2005, 02:24:17 AM »
Check the crowns on those rifles....<><.... :grin: