Author Topic: Is a sizer/lubricator necessary?  (Read 1007 times)

Offline n5odj

• Trade Count: (0)
Is a sizer/lubricator necessary?
« on: July 12, 2005, 02:27:41 PM »
Ideally, I'd like to shoot "as cast".  The bullets are supposed to be .459 out of the mold using wheel weights.    These bullets will have standard lube grooves.   I know about liquid Alox & have used it very successfully in a revolver, but what about bullets fresh out of the mold w/ the lube grooves?   Do I have to buy a luber/sizer?   Are there other methods to fill the lube grooves?

As you can tell, I'm a total newbie at casting bullets.

Robert in the hills of NC

Offline ribbonstone

• Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 04:06:45 PM »
IF they come out of the mold at the size you need, why size?  As-cast size will vary with the alloy...harder alloys shrink less, softer alloys shrink more.

Lyman lists a differnce of from .4575"(pure lead) to .4595" (linotype)...with stops inbetween for various alloys....of couse that depends on the mold's internal size.  Molds are more precise than they were, but are still only "on the money" for whatever alloy they were designed for.
-------
BTW: weight variaion from the type of alloy used can vary as well. A mold made to deliver a 405gr. bullet from Linotype will drop one at about 438gr. with pure lead.
-------
Lubing can be by liquid alox...pretty good lube for smokeless loads. Can be by the Kake-Kutter method (standing them up in a pan, pouring melted lube around them, letting it harden, then punching them out with a brass tube (usually made for an expanded cartridge case).

FOr that matter, rubbing the lube in with your fingers can work fine...messy and slow...but most Mini-Ball (muzzle loading) shooters tend to just glop in in bare-fingered.

Offline jimann

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Avid Poster
sizing?
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2005, 05:42:01 PM »
Hi