Author Topic: Rifled slugs in rifled barrel.....????  (Read 1731 times)

Offline Redcat376

• Trade Count: (0)
Rifled slugs in rifled barrel.....????
« on: September 06, 2005, 03:55:36 PM »
Can I shoot rifled slugs in a rifled barrel shotgun? Or, shoud I shoot only sabots? I read the Brennkel slugs can be fired in both smooth and rifled bores. Will rifled slugs hurt a rifled barrel? I want to shoot my slug gun at the range but don't want to shoot sabots all day long, to much $$$$. Thanks :?

Offline Cookiemann

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Apple Valley, MN
I'm No Expert...But
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 11:53:19 PM »
I seem to recall this coming up before.  If memory serves, it was pointed out that you would have a problem with leading in the barrel.  The thing I always wondered...The rifled slugs(Foster type) are designed to spin as they travel down the barrel.  Do they spin the same direction as the rifling or against it?  If they spin against it, I would think you would be shaving the fins on the slug off into your rifling.  Kind of the 'cheese grater' affect.  I'm no expert, but I am sure there are those on this forum who can answer those questions.
NOT ON MY WATCH

"AIM small...MISS small"

Offline BuzzKill

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 06:25:50 AM »
Redcat-

Yes, you physically can shoot Foster slugs (rifled) out of a rifled barrel.  However you may not want to due to the leading in the grooves.  I believe others here have found out that it is not worth the time of cleaning out lead to do so.  Try it if you like and to save money, but find a good wire brush and lead solvent.  The Brennekes (sp) are advertised for both smooth bore and rifled bores.  That doesn't mean that there still won't be a greater leading problem in the rifled barrel.  I believe there Gold slug is a non sabot slug designed for rifled barrels.  Many forum members are reporting good accuracy with the Lightfields.  Good Luck.  BuzzKill

Offline WNY_Whitetailer