Author Topic: Starting out... have some questions.  (Read 608 times)

Offline brokenknife

• Trade Count: (0)
Starting out... have some questions.
« on: September 27, 2005, 08:16:39 AM »
I have many years of experience with black powder revolvers and rifles.  Now I want to go to the next step-cannons.  I like the look of naval cannons best.  My question is which one.  Traditions makes a .69 "Old Ironsides" cannon that is simple and nice unit.  This is a turn key system and I even have a local supply of .69 lead ball ammo.  Another option is building a cannon.  I was looking at a 1/3 scale 1 inch bore steel lined cannon barrel of 23 inches.   I do not mind the work of building the carriage.  Which would be better?  I am leaning towards the 1/3 scale but I have some concerns.  How much louder is the 1 inch bore from the .69 bore?  Would a hard lead ball be ok in the 1 inch bore?  Would the 1/3 scale cannon be too much for a beginner?  Thanks for the help.

Offline Powder keg

• GBO Sponsor
  • GBO Supporter
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2005, 09:06:25 AM »
This is a hard question. The first mortar I built was a golf ball mortar. I love to shoot it. I've built a bowling ball mortar. It's a hoot, every time it goes off you can't help but laugh in excietment. I have a 1/3 scale 24 pounder bored for golf balls. I like it, but its like the bowling ball mortar, hard for one person to handle. It takes 2 people to load the 24 pounder into the back of my truck when it's assembled. I'm building some smaller ones now. Some people like something that will sit on their desk and look nice and still be able to shoot them and make a little noise if they want. It all depends on your likes and circumstances I guess. My wife lets me keep the 24 pounder in the living room. That is another issue, you have to have room to store it.
Wesley P.
"Powder Keg"