Author Topic: Mishap W/ bottom pour pot...  (Read 1298 times)

Offline captainkirk

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Mishap W/ bottom pour pot...
« on: February 28, 2003, 12:46:33 PM »
I'm sure most of you old timers will have the foresight not to experience this, but I'm still learning.  Just yesterday I was casting up several Lyman 457125's when the worst happened.  A bit of "crud" got caught in the spout area of my almost full bottom pour pot and emptied the entire contents in just a minute or so.  :cry:  My ingot mould was not handy so I emptied my "dross" pan on the floor and put it under the spout.  Still scorched my benchtop and several wooden handled tools that got caught under the pan.  Having some thoughts about turning my bottom-pour pot into just a pot as it has always leaked no matter what I did.  Anybody out there done this?

:roll:

captainkirk
Phil 4:13   I can do all things through Christ who strengtheneth me.

Offline Ka6otm

• Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2003, 12:51:14 PM »
captainkirk,

With respect to this question, there are probably three kinds of people out there:

1.  Those who have done it and will admit it.

2.  Those who have done it and will never admit it.

3.  Those who are going to do it one day.

Have I ever done it?...........nah, not in the last year or so anyway.

Ka6otm

Offline Graycg

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (74)
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2003, 01:14:54 PM »
Naw never happens :D ,
  but just in case it ever did, you could keep a brass wood screw handy on your bench top and if it did run out you would be amazed how well a brass wood screw twisted into the spout can solve your problem, not that I've ever done it :wink: , but take my word, it works. :grin:   Oh yeah, of course you will be wearing gloves if you do this!!

graycg
"Secretly you want me on that wall; you need me on that wall"  
 Colonel Nathan Jessup

Offline Lead pot

• A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2003, 01:39:14 PM »