Author Topic: Newbie Here, got a question or two???  (Read 507 times)

Offline sumoj275

• Trade Count: (0)
Newbie Here, got a question or two???
« on: March 01, 2006, 05:37:46 PM »
I bought my first H & R Ultara Varmint the other day.  I really like the rifle so far and I can not wait to get to the range.

My question is, when I put a round in the chamber there is resistence, I assume from the extractor/ejector.  Is this normal?  Next question, when I break open the action the shell is pulled out enough from the chamber so that I can take it out with my fingers, is that the way it is supposed to be or is it supposed to eject out of the chamber?

Thanks and I have enjoyed reading this board so far.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2006, 05:54:14 PM »
Welcome to GBO!! :D Extractors are standard on new H&R/NEF firearms, it will just lift the case out of the chamber about ΒΌ", old style ejectors on the other hand, will toss the case over your shoulder and into the next county!! The extractor will capture the round as it is chambered and will fully chamber as the action is closed.

Tim
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline sumoj275

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2006, 05:58:46 PM »
Thank you for the info, I like the idea of extraction better because I will be reloading for this rifle and would hate to run the brass down.  I guess the reason I was confused was becasue as a kid I had a .410 shotgun and I remembered it throwing the shells out.
Thanks again

Offline Cookiemann

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Apple Valley, MN
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2006, 11:38:26 PM »
sumoj275,