Author Topic: Scope mounting help  (Read 705 times)

Offline hogana

• Trade Count: (0)
Scope mounting help
« on: March 11, 2006, 11:27:41 AM »
I just ordered a Nikon Pro Staff scope for my new gun. I will be mounting it myself. I have never done this before on a large gun. I have moved scopes on 22's before, but never on a deer rifle.

I own some medium duty Lock-Tite (blue?), allen wrenchs etc.

Let me know if you have any mounting and sighting in/break in tips. I intend to follow the shoot clean shoot clean instructions on the Savage web site, exept I do not own copper solvent (I assume Hoppes #9 will work???).

The gun is a new unfired Remington Model 700 ADL in 270 cal.

I ordered Leupold rings and a 2 piece Leupold base. I ordered medium rings because I was concerned about the scope/scope view clearing the sights on the gun.

If you have any advice I would like to hear it.
AH

Offline whitedogone

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Contributor
Scope mounting help
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2006, 01:43:21 AM »