Author Topic: barrel life  (Read 728 times)

Offline hoggunner

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
    • 4A's Personal Protection Training
barrel life
« on: March 18, 2006, 03:02:37 AM »
I am new to this handgunning thing and love it :grin: .  I have been a small bore rifle shooter for years and with the fast, flat shooters you hear a lot about burning out barrels :eek: . is this something that happens to handgun barrels. I have only owned my taurus raging bull with 8.5 inch barrel in 44 mag for about 3 months and have 500 to 600 rounds thru it. do i need to worry about shooting the barrel out of my lil ol pip squeek :cry:
sportingly
Hoggunner.

Offline Questor

barrel life
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2006, 04:20:39 AM »
Do you mean wearing out your Raging Bull? Yes, you can do it. I don't know how many full power 454 rounds the Raging Bull will last for, so hopefully someone with several years of shooting one will be able to give you a realistic estimate. Some handguns, using jacketed bullets, can wear the barrel out in around 5,000 rounds. Mauser marketed a clever pistol once that only lasted about 1,000 rounds before the mechanism wore out.

On the other hand, bullseye shooters who use 1911s with light target loads using cast bullets have put 500,000 rounds through their guns before they needed work.

So it varies a lot.

In general, though, the rule of thumb is that people don't wear out centerfire rifles, but do wear out centerfire pistols. The reason is that the pistols get shot a lot.

My advice if you want to maximize the life of your Raging Bull is to shoot a lot of light target loads based on cast bullets, and reserve the full power loads for less frequent use.
Safety first

Offline williamlayton

barrel life
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2006, 05:25:55 AM »
On the other hand, I would think something would break on the body before the barrel was at half-life. :-)
Blessings
TEXAS, by GOD

Offline Redhawk1

• Life time NRA Supporter.
  • GBO Supporter