Author Topic: Best Coyote Bullet for a .223  (Read 1416 times)

Offline Jeremy

• Trade Count: (0)
Best Coyote Bullet for a .223
« on: March 26, 2006, 04:34:27 PM »
Hi guys.  I am new to reloading and I am looking for a bullet that will work for yotes but will be easy on the hide.  Fox are pretty rare in my neck of the woods so don't factor them into the equation. What would you suggest for my 1-9 twist .223?

Offline Datil

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (17)
best bullet
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2006, 01:47:39 AM »
The one that hits Mr Yote in the right place :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D

Marv. I beat mtchell to this one!

Offline blaster2560

FMJ
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2006, 02:52:05 AM »
I'd say use a FMJ bullet.

John

Offline mitchell

• Trade Count: (8)
Re: FMJ
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2006, 03:14:48 AM »
Quote from: blaster2560
I'd say use a FMJ bullet.

John

no no no no
only if you want boftball size holes

try the 40 grain V-max or the 50 i you yotes are big
curiosity killed the cat , but i was lead suspect for a while

Offline blaster2560

last one i shot
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2006, 04:57:05 PM »
went in and out NO "boftball size holes"

Offline mitchell

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2006, 05:27:23 PM »
if your a good enough shot to sneak it through the ribs every time on a moving yote half the time then help your self but if you ever hit a bone or your FMJ bullet tumbles (like its made to) you'll have a softball size hole. trust me.

go V-max and don't look back

Offline cheatermk3

• Trade Count: (3)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2006, 03:33:41 AM »
I have no experience shooting coyotes, so take this with a grain of salt.

Winchester makes a 64 grain bullet that works well in a 1/9 twist barrel, also they are low-dollar and stoutly constructed for a 22 caliber.  You might want to try this one too.

Offline mitchell

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2006, 05:00:01 AM »
i've never shot those cheater so i can't speak for them, but they may work.